US Commission on International Religious Freedom announces 2005 recommendations

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF) today announced its 2005 recommendations to Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice on “countries of particular concern,” or CPCs. The 1998 International Religious Freedom Act (IRFA) requires that the United States designate as CPCs those countries whose governments have engaged in or tolerated systematic and egregious violations of the universal right to freedom of religion or belief. The Commission’s recommendations for 2005 include, for the first time, Uzbekistan. In addition, the Commission reaffirmed its 2004 recommendations that the Secretary of State designate the following countries as CPCs: Burma, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea), Eritrea, Iran, Pakistan, People’s Republic of China, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Turkmenistan, and Vietnam. India was removed from the Commission’s recommended list of CPC countries.

Full Story.

2005 annual report online here. WARNING: Large .pdf file.

Bookmark and Share


Mama-Lu's Etsy Shop

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Papa-Lu published on May 14, 2005 9:08 AM.

EPPC shows Witness to Hope and sponsors conference on George Wiegel's new book was the previous entry in this blog.

Traditional Catholic Youth Group to attend World Youth Day is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.